Particular emphasis has been given in recent years to the development of a more effective form of local public-health administration through the development of County Health Units with full-time well-qualified staff. There will be 14 such Units in operation as of July 1, 1946, and others will be instituted as soon as suitable qualified personnel become available.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has an organized Department of Health and Public Welfare. The Health and Public Welfare Act states that the Minister shall preside over, and have the management and direction of the Department, and the Department shall have administrative jurisdiction over all matters in the Province that relate to health and public welfare. The Department is organized into four main Divisions: General Administration; Health Services; Psychiatric Services; and Public Welfare Services.

The Division of General Administration includes the general executive offices, and the Sections of Farms Management, Statistics and Records, Accountancy, Provincial Laboratories, Health and Welfare Education, Administrative Research, and Physical Fitness.

The Division of Health Services has three Sections: (1) Environmental Sanitation, which consists of the Bureaus of Public Health Engineering, Food and Milk Control, and Industrial Hygiene. The latter Bureau was started in 1943 to take care of the many hazards now appearing in industries, particularly those that have to do with the personnel employed by industry. (2) Preventive Medical Services. which consists of the Bureaus of: Disease Control, responsible for the control of acute communicable disease, venereal diseases and tuberculosis; Maternal and Child Hygiene, responsible for an educational program in maternal health, infant health, pre-school health, and school health; Public Health Nursing, responsible for nursing education, field supervision, licensing and control of practical nurses, registry for crippled children, and general administration of all public health nursing services. (3) The Extension Health Services Section administers the provisions of the Health Services Act, and consists of the Bureaus of: Local Health Services, responsible for the establishment, supervision, and general administration of local health units throughout the Province, the control of local part-time medical officers of health, consultative services to local and municipal health departments in Manitoba; Diagnostic Services, responsible for the establishment and general administration of diagnostic units set up in general hospitals in Manitoba which are maintained by the Provincial Government; Medical Care, responsible for the approval of contracts for pre-payment medical care between a municipality, or municipalities, and the contracting physician, and for the payment of government grants to the municipalities in aid of such service under conditions specified in Part III of the Act; Hospitalization, responsible for the organization and supervision of establishment of hospital districts, medical-nursing units, and hospital areas under the provisions of Part IV of the Act; and for the supervision of hospitals throughout the Province and the payment of Provincial Government grants to them as provided under the Hospitals Aid Act.

The Division of Psychiatric Services consists of the Bureaus of: Mental Institutions, responsible for the supervision and control of the four institutions—the Psychopathic Hospital, Winnipeg, the Hospitals for Mental Diseases at Selkirk and Brandon, and the Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie; Community Mental Health Services, responsible for out-patient services, child guidance clinics, services to courts and child-caring agencies, boarding-home care for the mentally ill, and teaching facilities.

 $50871 - 52\frac{1}{2}$